Home / Blog / Things to Do (Nov. 23-29)
Christmas and Holiday Traditions Around the World opens Nov. 21st, and continues through Jan. 7th at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park in Grand Rapids.
Christmas and Holiday Traditions Around the World opens Nov. 21st, and continues through Jan. 7th at Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park in Grand Rapids.

Things to Do (Nov. 23-29)

And here we are at Thanksgiving! A moment to reflect on all we are thankful for. For us, we are thankful for all of you who follow our adventures, and those who join us weekly on Behind The Mitten to discover all that our beautiful state has to offer. (And to laugh with us – or at us, and all of our mitten hilarity – or obnoxiousness depending on your opinion!) Regardless, we appreciate all of the support and kind words that you have offered over the past year.  Hopefully we have helped you make some discoveries about our great state. Here are some more great discoveries. Our list of things to do over the next week. It may be a little holiday heavy, but can we really have too much holiday right about now? Check the list and get to making some memories! In the meantime, we will see you weekends on Behind The Mitten!

Festival of Trees, Nov. 16-26; Muskegon Museum of Art in Muskegon; http://www.muskegonartmuseum.org/

North Pole Express Steam Train Excursions, Nov. 17-Dec. 17; Owosso; www.michigansteamtrain.com

31st Annual Mistletoe Market Holiday Art & Gift Sale, Nov. 17-Dec. 24; South Haven Center for the Arts in South Haven; https://www.southhavenarts.org/mistletoe-market

Wonderland of Lights, Nov. 17-Dec. 31 (Thursday-Sundays); Potter Park Zoo in Lansing; www.potterparkzoo.org

Andy Warhol’s American Icons, through Feb. 9; Grand Rapids Art Museum in Grand Rapids; www.artmuseumgr.org

The Science Behind Pixar, through March 18; Henry Ford Museum of American Innovation in Dearborn; https://www.thehenryford.org/current-events/calendar/the-science-behind-pixar/

Dragons, Unicorns & Mermaids, through May 20; Grand Rapids Public Museum in Grand Rapids; http://www.grpm.org/dragons/

Holiday Kerstmarkt, Various dates Nov. 18-Dec. 9; 8th Street Market Place in Holland; http://www.downtownholland.com/events/2017/holiday-kerstmarkt/

International Festival of Lights, Nov. 18-Dec. 31; Downtown Battle Creek, http://www.bcfestivals.com/international-festival-of-lights/

Rooftop Landing Reindeer Farm, Weekends Nov. 18 – Dec. 24; Clare; http://www.rooftopreindeer.com/

Big Bright Light Show, Nov. 20-Jan. 1; Downtown Rochester; https://visitdetroit.com/event/big-bright-light-show/

Les Miserables, Nov. 21-26; DeVos Performance Hall in Grand Rapids; www.broadwaygrandrapids.com

Christmas and Holiday Traditions Around the World, Nov. 21-Jan. 7; Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park in Grand Rapids; www.meijergardens.org

Christmas Lite Show, 5:30-9:30 pm Nov. 22-Dec. 31; Fifth Third Ballpark in Comstock Park; www.christmasliteshow.com

America’s Thanksgiving Parade, Nov. 23; Detroit; www.theparade.org

Thanksgiving Day at The Mounds, Nov. 23; The Mounds in Mount Morris; http://geneseecountyparks.org/events/thanksgiving-day-at-the-mounds/

Nite Lites, Nov. 23-Dec. 30; Michigan International Speedway in Brooklyn; www.nitelitesshow.com

Joe Bonamassa, 8 pm Nov. 24; Fox Theatre in Detroit; www.olympiaentertainment.com

Jay Leno, 9 pm Nov. 24; Four Winds Casino in New Buffalo; www.fourwindscasino.com

Dead & Company, 7 pm Nov. 24; Little Caesars Arena in Detroit; www.olympiaentertainment.com

The Wizard of Oz, 2 pm & 7:30 pm Nov. 24; The Whiting in Flint; www.thewhiting.com

Greensky Bluegrass, 8 pm Nov. 24; Kalamazoo State Theatre in Kalamazoo; www.kazoostate.com SOLD OUT

Tree Lighting Ceremony, 5 pm Nov. 24; Bronson Park in Kalamazoo; www.KzooParks.org

Glow Owosso, Nov. 24; Owosso; www.owossomainstreet.net

Holiday Celebration and Candlewalk, 6 pm Nov. 24; Frankenmuth River Place in Frankenmuth; https://www.frankenmuth.org/calendar/holiday-celebration-candlewalk/

Holiday Trail Celebration, 5-9 pm Nov. 24; Crystal Mountain in Thompsonville; http://www.crystalmountain.com/events/holiday-trail-celebration

Parade of Lights, 7 pm Nov. 24; Downtown Sault Ste. Marie; www.downtownsault.org

Fantasy of Lights, 7 pm Nov. 24; Downtown Howell; www.howell.org

Holiday Walk and Market, 12-5 pm Nov. 24; W.K. Kellogg Manor House in Hickory Corners; http://conference.kbs.msu.edu/events/holiday-walk-and-market-opens/

Lights Spectacular, Nov. 24 & 25; Treetops Resort in Gaylord; www.treetops.com

Chesaning Christmas Candlewalk, Nov. 24 & 25; Downtown Chesaning; http://www.chesaningchamber.org/christmas-candlewalk.html

Nuncrackers, the Nonsense Christmas Musical, Weekends, Nov. 24-Dec. 9; Holland Civic Theatre in Holland; www.hollandcivictheatre.org

Holly Dickens Festival, Friday after Thanksgiving, Saturdays and Sundays Nov. 24-Dec. 10; Downtown Holly; http://hollydickensfestival.org/index.html

Christmas Experience, Nov. 24-Dec. 24; Deer Tracks Junction in Cedar Springs; www.deertracksjunction.com

Marshall’s Merry Mile, Nov. 24-Dec. 30; Calhoun County Fairgrounds in Marshall, www.choosemarshall.com

Christmas at Crossroads Holiday Magic, Nov. 24-Dec. 30; Crossroads Village & Huckleberry Railroad in Flint; http://geneseecountyparks.org/crossroads-village/programs/christmas-holiday-magic/#

Jeff Daniels, 8 pm Nov. 25; Michigan Theater in Ann Arbor; www.michtheater.org

Canadian Brass Christmas, 8 pm Nov. 25; Miller Auditorium in Kalamazoo; www.millerauditorium.com

Pete the Cat, Nov. 25; City Opera House, Traverse City; https://www.cityoperahouse.org/pete-the-cat

Aglow on the Avenue, 6 pm Nov. 25; Downtown Ludington; http://www.downtownludington.org/aglow

Holidays in the City, Nov. 25; Hackley Park in Muskegon; https://visitmuskegon.org/event/holidays-city-2/all/

Stafford’s Downtown Petoskey Holiday Parade, Nov. 25; Downtown Petoskey; http://www.petoskeydowntown.com/downtown-events/2017/staffords-downtown-petoskey-holiday-parade

Nutcracker Tea, 1 pm Nov. 25; The Whiting in Flint; www.thewhiting.com

The Wizard of Oz, Nov. 25-26; Fox Theatre in Detroit;  www.olympiaentertainment.com

Brain Candy LIVE!, 7:30 pm Nov. 26; Midland Center for the Arts in Midland: www.mcfta.org

Santa Train, Saturdays and Sundays Nov. 25-Dec. 24; Coopersville and Marne Railway in Coopersville; https://www.coopersvilleandmarne.org/santatraintickets.php

Sparkle In the Park, Nov. 25-31; Hopkins Park in Bear Lake; http://www.visitmanisteecounty.com/?s=Sparkle+in+the+Park

Christmas Songs and Stories with John Berry, Nov. 26; City Opera House in Traverse City; https://www.cityoperahouse.org/john-berry

Vienna Boys Choir: Holiday, 7:30 pm Nov. 27; Midland Center for the Arts in Midland: www.mcfta.org

27th Annual Cannonsburg Christmas Tree Lighting Celebration, 6-9 pm Nov. 27; Cannonsburg Village; https://www.facebook.com/events/130127150982210/

Marshall Christmas Parade, Nov. 27; Downtown Marshall; https://choosemarshall.com/event/marshall-christmas-parade/

Vienna Boys Choir: Holiday, 7:30 pm Nov. 28; The Wharton Center in East Lansing; www.whartoncenter.com

Mannheim Steamroller Christmas, Nov. 28; The Mendel Center at Lake Michigan College in Benton Harbor; www.themendelcenter.com

Parade of Lights, 6:30 pm Nov. 28; Downtown Holland; http://www.downtownholland.com/events/2017/parade-of-lights/

Brain Candy Live!, 7:30 pm Nov. 29; Miller Auditorium in Kalamazoo; www.millerauditorium.com

 

About admin

Check Also

Lady Gaga, performs at 7:30 p.m. Nov. 7 at Little Caesars Arena in Detroit.

Things to Do (Nov. 2 – 8)

Onward and upward to the busy holiday season! There is always so much going on ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *